Ladies Finger Theeyal – A Kerala Recipe!

Ever since I changed my blog theme, the “Nothing Found” result in my Food and Travel tab has been itching in my eyes..Writing about all those cakes that I baked over the past few months sounded too boring.. I wanted to kick off this section with something interesting and here’s what I found – “Theeyal”.. I had never heard about it so when I first saw it in someone’s Facebook page I instantly decided to make this.. I googled and it found the recipe online..except for a few tweaks here and there the basic recipe remains pretty much the same.

Ingredients Needed:
Ladies Finger: 8- 10 (pieces)
Grated Coconut: 1/2 cup
Chilli powder: 1-2  teaspoons ( I put sambar powder since Dh doesn’t enjoy spicy food)
Turmeric powder: 1/2 teaspoon
Sabut Dhania  (Dry Coriander seeds) : 1 1/2 teaspoons (You could use same quantity of Dhania Poweder too!)
Jeera powder: 1 teaspoon
Pepper Corns: About 5-6
Chana Dal : 1/2 teaspoom
Tamarind pulp: 1 tablespoon
Water: 1 cup or less
Jaggery (optional): 1 teaspoon
Fenugreek powder: a pinch
Salt : As per taste
Garlic (Optional) : 3-4 cloves
Seasoning :
Mustard  seeds: 1 teaspoon
Dried Red chillies: 2
Onions(finely chopped): 1 tablespoon ( i did not use onions since I forgot :P)
Curry leaves: few  ( I did not use them since Dh hates anything that is green in colour when it comes to food :P)
  • Take a pan and dry roast the Grated Coconut, Pepper Corns, Chana Dal ,Turmeric powder, Chilli powder, Sabut Dhania and Jeera powder until brown and aromatic. The key is to fry them until coconut completely turns brown. Turn off your gas  just when it starts to burn and put it in a plate. 
  • Before you start cooking dissolve the tamarind  in 1/2 cup water so  that you to make a thick pulp.
  • Grind this roasted coconut mixture  along with garlic (if used) and  tamarind water to make a smooth paste.
  • Chop the ladies finger. Heat little oil in a pan. 
  • Sauté the ladies finger with the required amount of  salt. When ladies finger starts turning golden, pour the ground paste and the remaining tamarind pulp and water. Let it cook for 10 minutes.
  •  When  everything starts boiling  add the optional jaggery and fenugreek powder. 
  • In a small pan, some oil for the seasoning. Splutter the mustard seeds. Add dried red chillies, curry leaves and the finely chopped onions. Fry until the onions turn golden brown and pour this seasoning over the gravy.
And the Theeyal is ready! Enjoy this with steaming hot rice and Aloo fry..I guess it should go well with Rotis too..
Disclaimer : Before you start judging my photography skills here’s what I want to tell :-
  1. I was so hungry that I forgot to take a pic moment the dish was ready.  I had saved some of it for my FIL (who is big foodie like me) and I decided to click that!
  2. I am yet to make a light box or anything of that sort for my food photos. I do not have those beautiful looking cutlery either..So the food might not look as delicious as it tastes!
  3. Although  Juggler has advised me to learn some food photography tips online, I am yet to find time for that 😦
  4.  And right now I do not have the energy to edit the picture.
  5. If you’re still not convinced, there are hundreds of beautiful looking Theeyal pictures online!
Hope you enjoy cooking this as much as I did!
Sia
Leave a Reply

