Instant ‘Home-made’ Sambar Powder

Do you belong to the generation whose life is dependent on  Ready-To-Make foods?

Are you someone who has forgotten the age-old tradition of preparing Idli batter in the wet grinder and have resorted to the ready made ones you get in the malls?

Have you  stopped making sambars because it doesn’t taste like what your mum made?

If you think its a ‘YES’ for all these questions then you most definitely fall into my category of people – The new age working women juggling work and family. But I do try my best to cook as much as possible and come out with easy-to-make recipes. God knows what I would have done if Google wasn’t there!  With a year and half of intense searching I have come up with a list of recipes which are simple, less time consuming yet tasty!

Here’s a quick sambar powder recipe which is very easy to make. Its no way close to the conventional way of sun drying all spices and getting them powdered in the ‘Chakki’. 

This one is a quick fix for people like me who are obsessed with home-made stuff yet do not find time to make them.

Ingredients:

Coriander powder – 2 packets

Chilly Powder – 1 packet

Turmeric powder – 1/2 Teaspoon

Mustard Seeds – 1 Teaspoon

Pepper corns – 1 Teaspon

Fenugreek Seeds – 1 Teaspoon

Yellow Pigeon Peas/ Tur Dal/ Arahar Dal – 1/2 Cup

Method :

  • Dry Roast Coriander Powder, Chilly Powder and Turmeric in Kadhai till the raw  smell is gone. Lets call this mixture A.
  • In another Kadhai add mustard seeds and let it pop.
  • Add fenugreek, pepper corns and Tur Dal. Roast everthing tiill the Dal turns mild brown.
  • Allow the mixture to cool and grind them to make a fine mixture. Lets call this mixture B.
  • Now mix both mixtures (A and B)thoroughly and the sambar powder is ready!Din’t I tell you it was super-easy?

I can’t thank my mother-in-law enough for giving this secret recipe to me.

  • Kadhai –  is a thick, circular, and deep cooking pot mainly used extensively in Indian cooking.
  • Chakki – A place where grindstone grinds the grains into flour or  Electrically operated mills to powder grains into flour.

Sia

7 responses

  1. Hey Sia, have been meaning to ask you for this recipe for a long time now. Thanks a lot for sharing. I still have a large batch of sambar powder which I ground when my mum-in-law was here. But can’t wait to try this one.

    1. Do try and let me know if it turns out well!

    2. Do try and let me know if it turns out well! 🙂

  2. Thanks I will share it with my friends. They miss the taste without the home made sambhar powder.

    1. Sure 🙂 Let me know if it tastes good!

  3. there is instant sambar mix with every thing in sambar exept fresh vegetables and water. sambar can be made within 10 minutes with the instant sambar mix. there is no need of dal tamrind and etc.

    1. Thanks Padmaja. What brand is that. Although I prefer making sambar from scratch whenever needed knowing this would help during urgent situations.

Leave a Reply

