Game of Thrones!

I am back!

I admit! I am bad at following routine. When I started this blog, I thought I would be much regular at writing and make this a part of my routine. Knowing my past few failed attempts at blogging, S warned me against it. I argued with him at length, told him that things are different now and I am more responsible and committed and I can very well maintain a blog. 

I am glad he doesn’t visit this space these days. The past few times he did, he saw the same post and finally got bored. He has given up on me and my commitments :(..Well, I have nothing much to say in my defense expect that I genuinely wanted to blog once I was back from Chennai. I do not think I mentioned about it in the blog. The trip was a last minute plan. We spent close to 10 days in Chennai.  We visited my grandparents at Kuthanoor, a village in Thiruvarur district. The place is famous for the Saraswathi temple. We went to a lot of other temples. I am sure atleast half of the Navagrahas are happy with me now. The other half? Well, I blame them for all that is happening in my life. Lots to say about that trip but that I promise, will be a separate post. So I was saying that I really wanted to blog when I got back but something else caught my attention.

Before I forget, let me talk a bit about the title of this post..Just before we left for Chennai, BIL gave S his hard-disk and asked him to watch Game of Thrones. For the uninitiated, here is the Wiki introduction:-

Game of Thrones is an American epic fantasy television drama series created for HBO by David Benioff and D. B. Weiss. It is an adaptation of A Song of Ice and Fire, George R. R. Martin’s series of fantasy novels, the first of which is titled A Game of Thrones.

Image

I had seen some my ‘cool’ friends discuss about this a week before. There were a lot of updates on Twitter and FB. So we decided that we would watch it together..Somehow, I got feelers that it was too much blood and gory and I bailed out. S started watching it alone…And boy, did he stop at all. Hooked? Addicted? Gimme a better word..Till the time he  was done, I never kissed him goodnight. God only knows what time he slept or if he ever slept at all..I have always abhorred too much of anything. I felt he was being crazy.. I decided I did not want to become a victim of this addiction.. Later, when I had to travel alone to Chennai,(S had to catch a different flight due to work) I wanted something to keep me occupied. S offered to load the first season of Game of Thrones in the Tab (Samsung Galaxy Tablet) so that I could watch it during the 3 hour flight. I saw the first two episodes on my way to Chennai and by the end of it I felt it was just about ok.

Post Chennai trip I had a lots of washing and dusting and amidst all the household chores I forgot about GOT.. Oh ya, that’s what people call it..Then one day when I was too bored I started the 3rd episode and trust me when I say that I have spent couple of sleepless nights, postponed whatever little of my office work, refused to cook and what not! And today when I finish the last episode of the 3rd season I can’t wait till next year when the 4th season releases. The wait seems too long. This series has been one of the best I have ever watched. What a storya nd what an imagination.. Anything more I say would be a spoiler and I would not want to do that.

I don’t know how many of you like to watch to TV. I love them! I followed a lot of Hindi serials, a few ENglish ones, but this one has been beyond what I could ever have thought. This has been far better than what I imagined it to be. And I totally understand why S was so addicted to it. I finished the second season when we were at our inlaw’s house. I finished the season and looked at the time. It was 3 AM!! S’s paati thought it was once of her grandsons. I am sure she was shocked when I told it was me while the boys were fast asleep. 😛

As much as I would love to discuss the show, the characters, my interpretations I would not want it to be spoiler. Folks, if any of you have slightest interest in watching TV series then I would like it if you give this one a try. You might not like it in the beginning but hold on and you will thank me for it in the end!

And btw, I heard couple of Hindi serial’s TRP is too low. I am not watching them you see 😉

Sia

4 responses

  1. LOL at last sentence 😆

    I should really give this a try. Even I have heard a lot about this series in the last one month. Now seeing it here and you praise it so much, its time for me to watch it 😛

    1. Hey GB 🙂
      Yes, try..And let me know if you like it..

  2. welcome hai ji, kaise ho 😉 😉

    now you have piqued my interest. Once my FRIENDS marathon is over, I will start this series..even bhai has recommended it..and now you…so kuch to dum hai isme 😛 😛

    1. Hey Visha, GIve this one a try..I am sure you will like it..Then we can have a discussion on the characters etc etc..

Leave a Reply

