Week# 1 – 52 Weeks of Gratitude – Why Start This Challenge?

This blog post from Bikram came at a time when I was scratching my head on what to write about.

I had taken a year long hiatus from this blog. Not just one but for many reasons. Like I said in my last post I had very high hopes from 2014- personal, professional. In the end I was left with disappointments only. But somewhere I feel there were many happy moments too which I conveniently chose to ignore while I was busy focussing on what I did not have. I stopped blogging, stopped blog hopping too. In short I stopped all good things that I once did. I sulked over the blog awards I did not get but forgot the friends I got from blogging. I forgot the amazing US trip I went to but cribbed about the Euro trip we could not take. I forgot the diamond necklace I bought but sulked about the gifts that I did not get! Suddenly I felt my life was paused while everyone else’s was on a fast forward mode. Some were getting pregnant, some went onsite, some bought a house and some took expensive vacations. Without even knowing I started comparing my life with others and felt lost, felt cheated. It felt as if I was robbed of my happiness. I was left with only hatred. I went on a self-critical mode. Somewhere started feeling incomplete and ignored.How many times did I open wordpress to break this self-imposed silence! There is one lesson I learnt though – That it is very easy to get depressed but very difficult to come out of it.

Now that I have vented I feel better, much much better!! If not anything this blog was my emotional outlet, a place where I could write anything, say anything without being judged, without worrying about what one would think of me. Someone anonymity helped me.

Now I have decided to get back on track. Start writing again. And I need to guys to support me, push me and bug me – in short boost my ego!

That is why when I saw Bikram‘s post I decided this would me my ideal comeback.

10869784_10152539586531631_5639190144537728250_o-1

Why Start This Challenge

Well, I  always knew that gratitude is the queen of virtues but I have never taken it seriously.

1) First reason to start this challenge would be to force myself to start practising gratitude. There are so many things I have taken for granted, so many beautiful moments I ignored. I want to consciously focus on those good moments and celebrate them.

2) It gives me 52 topics to write about.

3) If, atleast one person gets inspired and starts practising gratitude after reading this, it would be a mission accomplished.

Like how 2014 was a comeback year for Gutthi, 2015 is for Sia!

P.S:- You don’t know who Gutthi is? Aww, start watching Comedy Nights with Kapil. Its a laughter riot!

Sia

11 responses

  1. My best wishes always. I am sure 2015 will be great for you… GOd bless

    and dont worry what happened in 2014 that has gone. All the best with the challenge and looking forward to reading ..

    1. Thanks Bikram 🙂

  2. Looking forward to reading all your posts, Sia 🙂 All the best with the challenge 🙂

    1. Thanks GB 🙂

  3. Wow.. so perfectly you have expressed your thoughts……..
    I feel the same way today ………..

    1. Thanks Simple girl 🙂

  4. Vaayadi Pennu ;) | Reply

    excellent timing to visit your blog.. 🙂 go right ahead.. looking forward for more…. have an excellent year 🙂

    1. Thanks VP 🙂

  5. Nice post.. Hope to see 52 good ones this year. All the best!!!

    1. Thanks S 🙂

  6. […] know I missed the week 2 technically but I promise I will try to finish the 52 weeks challenge, Okay? I will catch up on Week 3 soon. So stay […]

Leave a Reply

