Going Artsy..

In my last post, I talked about how I started driving in 2014 after many futile attempts. This one is about another side of me which I discovered only last year. I have never been very good at art, did an average job in my arts classes. No wonder I do not have any of my childhood paintings or crafts like many people do! I remember a tribal doll I made with broomsticks, a pen stand with ice cream sticks and many more. But I guess they were not really good enough to treasure! Sigh!

Anyways, last year out of blue I wanted to start Quilling. I got this realisation  when one of my school friends had posted a few quilled earrings on her facebook wall. Now, my liking for quilling started many many years back when I was a kid. We used to have a tailoring inch-tape at home and I used to roll it and make dome and other shapes like how we do in quilling. So when I saw her Fb post,  I immediately started looking for classes in Delhi. I reached out to one person but she was on a maternity break. Some were very expensive and few others were targetted only for kids. My intense desire to learn the art made me order stuff online. Thus started my journey of quilling and before I knew it I started to love the art.

I made many earrings and gifted it to near and dear ones. Mil wanted a few to gift to her friends. In th end I was left with 10-12 pairs. I took them to Baroda when I went to visit my sister. Her neighbour bought all those at once because she loved them so much. She thought it was a brilliant gift for Golu/Navarathri. There began my small quilling business. I created a webpage but did not update much because of laziness lack of time. (I do intend to update the page regularly in 2015). I knew quilling as a business would not be very profitable. ‘S’ being an MBA wanted me to give a B-plan and instantly rejected the idea. He thought I should only make this as a hobby and not business because the profits I would make will never match my existing pay package. He was infact against the selling idea as well. But what would I do with all the earrings I made? I can’t wear all of them and seeing so many pairs catching dust I didn’t feel like making more. I thought I was losing the motivation slowly . Then my friend Su suggested I should sell them atleast to cover the material and courier cost. If not profit I should atleast not make losses. It did not sound like a bad idea and I started selling them just to cover these expenses. Its a no profit-no loss business right now. I do it because I love this art and it makes me happy. It makes me forget all my worries. In a way quilling is therapeutic!

Here are few quilling earrings that I made:

10608698_1474317799521001_3871524930543084521_o

I made this Quilled Veena for S’s paati. She wanted this for her Ambal( Devi Idol). I had made a Tirusoolam and Karumbu(sugarcane) as well for her. She uses these as props while decorating her idol in various avatars during Navarathri and other festivals.

20150123_112817

Here is what I sent to Su. These beauties went all the way to Hyderabad.

1452049_1498157490470365_6961125222051239978_n (1)

Apart from quilling I also started a bit of bottle painting after getting much needed dose of inspiration from GB.

IMG_20141118_120423

 

I hope you enjoyed the pics as much as I loved making them. These and much more on my Facebook page Shreni. Do ‘Like’ the page. 😉

So this was my second entry for the MyBestOf2014 trilogy I talked about. Wonder what the 3rd and final one is? Watch this space for more!

Cheerios,

Sia

13 responses

  1. Some really beautiful stuff on display here. Well done! 🙂

    1. Thanks Deboshree 🙂 I just realised you are the 50th follower of the blog.. Let me know if like any of these. I will be happy to gift 🙂

      1. Wow, this is such a happy coincidence. 🙂 Oh, will definitely keep that in mind. Thank you! 🙂

      2. You’re welcome 🙂

  2. Oh my God!!! Such beautiful and colorful earrings 🙂 Awesome Sia!! Loved your bottles too – I am so glad you mentioned my name 🙂

    1. Thanks GB :).. Like Eklavya I learnt the art from you, so had to give you due credits..

      1. I am totally honoured, thanks a lot 🙂

  3. wowowowow and you know i would enjoy more holding them in my hand he he he he 🙂

    jokes apart they are beautiful

  4. Thanks Bik 🙂 Tell me which on do you want?

  5. Wow… All of them are so beautiful 🙂

    1. Thanks FV 🙂

  6. wow wow wow, no other words I have 🙂 🙂

    1. Thanks Visha 🙂

Leave a Reply

