Just Read..

Anne of Green Gables – L.M. Montgomery

I know much has been written and talked about Anne Shirley, the protagonist of this book. Infact, I found so many people talk about it that I immediately got myself a copy in kindle. When I started reading, S was shocked that I am actually reading a children’s classic at this age. I brushed him off saying, ” There is no age to read classics” 😛

download

Coming to the book, frankly I was not very impressed with the fiery and talkative red-head Anne initially. But as the story progressed I began to like her. Her positivity and her perspective really excited me. I read this book at a time when I was going to a big negativity patch. When I started looking at the things in Anne way, it really made so much of a difference in my mood. One more thing that really impressed me was how progressive the characters in the book are despite the fact that this was written more than 100 years ago. Women travelling miles to watch  political tours, discussing about voting etc. Every character in the book grows beautifully. The changes Anne brings into Marilla’s behaviour and vice-versa, the love that Matthew has for Anne, everything in the book progesses beautifully.

All in all it is certainly a good read and I would have enjoyed it much more had I read this when I was say 12-13 yrs maybe, when I had imaginations as flowery as Anne’s.

Intermission – Nirupama Subramanian

I picked this book at a throwaway price just by seeing the name. A fellow Tamilian bonding 😛

Gayathri and Varun are married for good 17 years and are  NRI couple settled in Gurgaon. They also happen to be a “Two States” couple ( cross- community). However, there is not much detail about how they fell in love , get married etc.   They lead a very boring life in the millennium city. Gayathri is the CFO of some company and Varun has his own software firm.

Image from Goodreads

The book is about their life in luxurious gated-community or the condominium, about the lavish parties big shots throw, the kitty party gossips and extra-marital affair. Its a book about confused and stale relationships. We’ve heard about 7 year itch, this one is about 17. I have lived in Gurgaon so I could relate to may things in the book . Its a quick read and I finished it in 1.5 days flat! But the book was just about ok. It was a bit too filmy for my liking. The book failed to create that magic a reader looks for in a book.

Btw, S and I went to Landmark in DLF Promenade mall last weekend an there was a 90% sale going on!! Can you believe we got 15 books for less than 450 Rs? Yes! It was a steal but the books were not very popular. I got a food fiction and few other interesting books too. Can’t wait to finish them all.

Meanwhile, if any of you read something really amazing and can recommend me then it would be great!

Happy Weekend

Sia

3 responses

  1. I love Anne of Green Gables too. I too read it when I was going through a lot and this book really did help me cheer up a lot 🙂

  2. Haven’t read these two.. have read girl from fatehpur.. it was filmy too. I would say ok. Light read

Leave a Reply

