Let Go..

This is exactly what S said a while back. Few days ago S  went to attend a training and got a very nice pen from there. I  took it away from him on the same day and have been sparingly using it so that it lasts long. Today I went to the scanning/photocopier room in my office and left the pen somewhere. I  realized it quite late and started searching high and low for it but it was gone!! I asked all the security guards if some good samaritan found it and gave it to them. I checked under the table, near shredder but it was nowhere to be found.

Its been 3 hours and I am still stuck at the thought of that pen! The whole chain of events are going on in an endless loop. I have asked S atleast a hundred times if he can attend one more training and get the same pen for me! He is a patient man for sure, to put up with a crazy person with weird OCD’s  is a very big task for sure. And this guy doesn’t even flinch.

I have a big issue with losing things.I just cannot  tolerate and find it extremely difficult to  overcome  that nagging feeling. When I was a  kid, one of   my cousins stole my parker pen.  Since  I am very careful about my things I can make out if its lost very soon. So this cousin took the pen and went home. I told my parents, they asked me to leave it and not make an issue and they promised to buy me a new one. But I just couldn’t control my anger and frustration. I went to their house on the same day, threatened my cousin to give it back or I will inform his parents and finally got it back.

S and I are friends for almost a decade and he very well knows about my OCD of losing things. Today, I asked him what would he have done if he was in my place, he immediately said “Let Go”! I can’t even imagine doing that. Infact, he has now asked me to precisely do that , “Let Go”. I have promised him I won’t bug the security guards again tomorrow and neither would I sulk or ask him one more time to bring it from office. He says its a challenge for me and that this attitude would prepare me for bigger things in life.

quote-what-is-it-about-us-human-beings-that-we-can-t-let-go-of-lost-things-leslie-marmon-silko-91-38-57

As of now, I am hoping the thought of that cute fluorescent green and royal blue pen somehow dissipates. I don’t want to think about this in my dreams and spoil my beauty sleep. (Oh ya btw, I dream about the objects I lose!!)

Sia

4 responses

  1. Beautiful post. I enjoyed reading it.
    Here’s hoping you’ll visit my blog too.
    http://www.thewhimsicalandwanderingsoul.wordpress.com
    Best wishes. Have a great day. 🙂

    1. Thanks Vidisha 🙂

  2. I know what you mean. I have this issue of letting go for some things that are so close to my heart 🙂 I am definitely getting better at it though, at letting go 🙂
    I love that quote you have shared. Yet somehow, I pray that you get your pen back? Did you get it back?

    1. Toffee – I have improved a lot now.. I try not to have too much of an attachment on any material things.. To answer your second question, No 😦

Leave a Reply

